Division IX: Radio/TV

Posted By Spring Eselgroth

A one-page cover letter may be submitted with entries as a PDF. (To help the judges keep track of things, please style the PDF title like this: yournamecoverletter.PDF)

Submit entries as permalink URLs.

Unless otherwise noted, entries may include up to five elements, including but not limited to stories, videos, graphics.

Content from an organization’s website, even if online-only, should be entered in these categories.

1. Best Segment/ Interview

In-depth reporting that presents a single important topic and/or news event in a way that allows the listener/viewer to understand it more clearly.

2. Best Series/ Investigative

In-depth, enterprise reporting that: a) presents important and necessary information that was unknown to the general readership/viewership and was unavailable from other sources before publication; b) demonstrates an obvious need for change in law/policy/behavior.

3. Best Show

Choose six pieces of work that exemplify a news organization’s quality, strength and consistency over time.

4.Breaking News/Special Report

Can be a single story or a package of stories produced on the same day. May also be a special report highlighting a major topic.

Must be submitted as permalink URLs.

Entries may be reactive reporting, though credit will be given for proactive news broken by a reporter or news organization’s reporting staff.

Ongoing coverage of an event that continues after the initial reporting period does not meet SABEW’s definition of “Breaking News” and should be entered in “Investigative,” “Explanatory” or “Feature” category, whichever is appropriate.

5. Feature/ Field Report

Reporting of a feature or in the field that demonstrates creative approaches to presentation.

Enter the contest here.

SABEW - Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication,
Arizona State University

555 North Central Ave, Suite 406 E, Phoenix, AZ 85004-1248
Phone: (602)-496-7862 Fax: (602) 496-7041

E-mail: sabew@sabew.org

©2001 - 2015 Society of American Business Editors and Writers, Inc.