Diana Henriques

Posted By admin

Diana B. Henriques


Diana B. Henriques, the author of the New York Times bestseller The Wizard of Lies: Bernie Madoff and the Death of Trust, is a contributing writer for The New York Times, where she has worked  since 1989. She was previously a staff writer for Barron’s magazine, a Wall Street correspondent for The Philadelphia Inquirer, and an investigative reporter for The Trenton (N.J.) Times.

In 2005, she was a finalist for a Pulitzer Prize and won a George Polk Award, the Worth Bingham Prize for Investigative Reporting and Harvard’s Goldsmith Prize for her 2004 series exposing insurance and investment rip-offs of young military consumers. She was also a member of The New York Times team that was a Pulitzer finalist for its coverage of the 2008 financial crisis.

Henriques is a member of the board of governors of the Society of American Business Editors and Writers (SABEW) and also serves on the board of trustees of her alma mater, the George Washington University in Washington, D.C.

During her years on the SABEW board, Henriques has helped update its ethics code and served on the executive committee that navigated SABEW’s challenging relocation to its new home at the Cronkite School at Arizona State University and hired its current executive director. Besides supporting SABEW financially, she has played active roles in every SABEW conference held during her tenure on the board: organizing and serving on panels, recruiting “newsmakers” and speakers, and mentoring new members and visitors.

Besides her book on the Madoff scandal, Henriques is the author of three previous books: The Machinery of Greed, Fidelity’s World and The White Sharks of Wall Street. In spring 2013, she is serving as a Ferris Visiting Professor of Writing at Princeton University.

She and her husband Larry live in Hoboken, N.J.

SABEW - Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication,
Arizona State University

555 North Central Ave, Suite 406 E, Phoenix, AZ 85004-1248

E-mail: sabew@sabew.org

©2001 - 2019 Society of American Business Editors and Writers, Inc.