2016 Best in Business Announced

Posted By Crystal Beasley

sabew-best-in-business-logoThe Society of American Business Editors and Writers will open its 2016 Best in Business (BIB) awards contest on Dec. 1.

As in past years, the 2016 BIBs have been updated to reflect the rapidly evolving media landscape. Among this year’s new features:

  • All BIBs will be platform agnostic.

  • Entrants will compete based on the size of their newsroom staff, rather than on the size of their circulation, ratings or digital footprint.

  • For the first time, BIBs will recognize general excellence in industry- or topic-specific publications.

  • Additional beats being recognized this year include airlines and travel, autos and transportation, media and entertainment, economics, retail, markets, banking and finance, management and careers.

The 2016 BIBs are open to work published between Jan. 1, 2016 and Dec. 31, 2016. The final deadline for all entries is Jan. 31, 2017 at midnight. Additional information and rules will be available Nov. 30 on SABEW.org. Winners and honorable mentions will be selected by panels of reporters, editors, and academics.

The BIBs are the only comprehensive set of awards honoring excellence in business journalism. Winners will be honored on the final night of SABEW’s annual conference and awards banquet, Saturday, April 29 in Seattle.

View the complete list of 2015 winners here.

If you have questions, please contact us at bib@sabew.org or call (602) 496-7862.

SABEW is North America’s oldest and largest membership organization dedicated to business and finance journalism. The inaugural 1995 BIBs were created to set standards and recognize excellence in the industry. Today, members include reporters, bloggers, producers, editors, photographers, videographers, students, educators and others who are involved in the reporting and delivery of business and financial news and features. SABEW provides year-round training workshops for journalists, hosts two conferences annually, administers the Larry Birger Young Business Journalist award, the Goldschmidt Data Immersion/Government Workshop, Health Care Symposium and also the BIB awards.

SABEW - Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication,
Arizona State University

555 North Central Ave, Suite 406 E, Phoenix, AZ 85004-1248

E-mail: sabew@sabew.org

©2001 - 2019 Society of American Business Editors and Writers, Inc.