Fourth Annual Larry Birger Young Business Journalist of the Year Award

Posted By David Wilhite

Entries are being accepted for the fourth annual SABEW award honoring a top young business journalist. The winner will receive $1,500 plus an expense paid trip to New York where the award will be presented during SABEW’s annual fall conference, October 12-13, 2017.

Journalists 29 years old and younger during 2016 are eligible. (A journalist who turned 30 during 2016 is eligible). The entry deadline is 5:00 p.m., Monday, July 31, 2017. See complete rules and instructions.

About Larry Birger
The Larry Birger Young Business Journalist Award is named after Birger, the former Miami Herald business editor who served as SABEW president in 1977. Birger was later a partner in rbb Communications of Miami, Fla. until his death in 1998. The award is made possible by a gift from rbb Communications.

2016 Winner
William Alden, 27, a San Francisco-based business reporter for BuzzFeed News covering the technology industry, was the 2016 winner of the Larry Birger Young Business Journalist prize, honoring journalists younger than 30.

SABEW is the largest organization of business journalists in the world. For more information, contact Crystal Beasley at

About rbb Communications:
rbb is a marketing communications firm and four-time U.S. Agency of the Year. As the Champion of Breakout Brands, rbb inspires companies with insights on creating customer passion to increase sales. rbb’s multicultural staff delivers award-winning creativity, media relations, corporate counsel, influencer engagement, internal communications, product introductions, digital media, content creation and results/analytics. Specialty practices include consumer products/services, travel & leisure, health, sports & entertainment, professional services and higher education. For more information, call (305) 448-7450 or visit

SABEW - Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication,
Arizona State University

555 North Central Ave, Suite 406 E, Phoenix, AZ 85004-1248


©2001 - 2019 Society of American Business Editors and Writers, Inc.