Seven elected to the SABEW Board of Governors at SABEW18

Posted By Crystal Beasley

Ballots were cast during SABEW18, SABEW’s annual conference, in Washington, D.C. for seven seats on the SABEW Board of Governors, six with a term ending in 2021 and one ending in 2019.

SABEW members elected three new members to the Board of Governors:

  • Megan Davies, editor and reporter, Thomson Reuters (term ends in 2019)
  • Heather Long, economics correspondent, The Washington Post (term ends in 2021)
  • Cindy Perman, partnerships and syndication editor, (term ends in 2021)

“We are very pleased to welcome these three outstanding business journalists to the board. The breadth, depth, and diversity of their experience will strengthen SABEW,” said Executive Director Kathleen Graham. I look forward to working with the new, re-elected and current members to advance the mission of SABEW.”

Four incumbent governors were re-elected, each serving three-year terms:

The new and re-elected governors join these fourteen current members of SABEW’s board:

  • President, Mark Hamrick, senior economic analyst, Washington bureau Chief, – Hamrick leads SABEW as president for his second term.
  • Vice President, Bryan Borzykowski, freelance business writer
  • Secretary/Treasurer, Kim Quillen, business source editor, Chicago Tribune
  • Robert Barba, deputy spot news editor, The Wall Street Journal
  • Shobhana Chandra, economics reporter, Bloomberg News
  • Marilyn Geewax, former senior business editor, NPR and Cox Institute’s Industry Fellow
  • Roseanne Gerin, English news editor, Radio Free Asia
  • Amy Gleason, senior director, News, S&P Global Market Intelligence
  • Glenn Hall, chief editor, Dow Jones Newswires
  • James T. Madore, senior business writer/economy, Newsday
  • Dean Murphy, associate editor, The New York Times
  • James B. Nelson, reporter, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel and business journalism instructor, Marquette University
  • Patrick Sanders, assistant managing editor/investing, U.S. News & World Report
  • Caleb Silver, vice president, content, Investopedia/IAC

About the Board of Governors and SABEW
The Board of Governors is the leadership body of the Society for Advancing Business Editing and Writing (SABEW), a 501(c)(3) organization. Governors are elected by a vote of the membership during the annual spring conference. SABEW’s mission is to encourage comprehensive reporting of economic events without fear or favoritism and to increase members’ skills and knowledge through continuous education. SABEW advocates for full access to financial and economic data, including information collected and distributed by governments.

For more information, contact

Follow @sabew on twitter.

SABEW - Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication,
Arizona State University

555 North Central Ave, Suite 406 E, Phoenix, AZ 85004-1248


©2001 - 2019 Society of American Business Editors and Writers, Inc.