Six elected to the SABEW Board of Governors at SABEW19

Ballots were cast during SABEW19, SABEW’s annual conference, in Phoenix for six seats on the SABEW Board of Governors with a term ending in 2022.

SABEW members elected three new members to the Board of Governors:

  • Alan Deutschman, Professor and Reynolds Endowed Chair of Business Journalism
    University of Nevada, Reno
  • Desiree Hanford, Lecturer, Medill/Northwestern University
  • Scott Wenger, Group Editorial Director, SourceMedia

“We are very pleased to welcome these three outstanding business journalists to the board. The breadth, depth, and diversity of their experience will strengthen SABEW,” said Executive Director Kathleen Graham. “I look forward to working with the new, re-elected and current members to advance the mission of SABEW.”

Three incumbent governors were re-elected, each serving three-year terms:

The new and re-elected governors join these fourteen current members of SABEW’s board:

  • President, Bryan Borzykowski, freelance business writer
  • Vice President, Kim Quillen, business source editor, Chicago Tribune
  • Secretary/Treasurer, Caleb Silver, editor-in-chief & SVP content, Investopedia/IAC
  • Xana Antunes, executive editor, Quartz
  • Cesca Antonelli, editor-in-chief, Bloomberg BNA
  • Robert Barba, deputy spot news editor, The Wall Street Journal and Dow Jones Newswires
  • Rich Barbieri, executive editor, CNN Business
  • Brad Foss, global business editor, Associated Press
  • Pallavi Gogoi, chief business editor, NPR
  • Glenn Hall, chief editor, Dow Jones Newswires
  • Andrew Leckey, president/business journalism chair, Donald W. Reynolds National Center, ASU
  • Heather Long, economics correspondent, The Washington Post
  • Dean Murphy, associate managing editor for investigations, The New York Times
  • James B. Nelson, editor, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel and business journalism instructor, Marquette University
  • Cindy Perman, partnerships and syndication editor,

Ex-officio members:

  • Mark Hamrick, senior economic analyst, Washington bureau chief,
  • Cory Schouten, senior newsletter editor, The Wall Street Journal
  • Joanna Ossinger, editor, cross-asset group, Bloomberg News
  • Marty Steffens, SABEW chair in business and journalism School of Journalism, University of Missouri

About the Board of Governors and SABEW
The Board of Governors is the leadership body of the Society for Advancing Business Editing and Writing (SABEW), a 501(c)(3) organization. Governors are elected by a vote of the membership during the annual spring conference. SABEW’s mission is to encourage comprehensive reporting of economic events without fear or favoritism and to increase members’ skills and knowledge through continuous education. SABEW advocates for full access to financial and economic data, including information collected and distributed by governments.

For more information, contact

Follow @sabew on twitter.

Best in Business Book Awards

Official Media Partner

BIB Book Awards Sponsors

Exclusive Sponsor
Investing & Personal Finance category

Exclusive Sponsor
Business & Reporting category

Official Content Distributor