David J. Morrow Scholarship for Business Journalism

The Morrow scholarship is a partnership between the School of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of South Carolina and SABEW. The scholarship is for students aspiring to become business journalists. The funds are designated for college tuition and expenses associated with attending a SABEW conference.

Selection Criteria
The award goes to a graduate or undergraduate student who exhibits significant interest in business/financial journalism at USC.

Selection Committee
The scholarship is selected annually by the Baldwin Fund for Business and Financial Journalism committee which is comprised of one SABEW representative.

About David J. Morrow
The scholarship is named in honor of David J. Morrow, alumnus of the School of Journalism and Mass Communications at USC. Morrow was a prominent financial journalist who died of pancreatic cancer in January 2010 at age 49. At the time of his death, Morrow was a SABEW board member and the first Donald W. Reynolds Endowed Chair in Business Journalism at the University of Nevada, Reno. Before accepting that appointment, he had served for eight years as editor-in-chief of TheStreet.com. Morrow’s business journalism career also included stints at The New York Times, Smart Money and Fortune magazines and the Detroit Free Press.

Scholarship Winners
2019 Genna Contino
2019 Kenn Coe
2019 Taylor Washington
2019 Katherine Polowczyk
2018 Hannah Slater
2018 Anjali Patel
2018 Zoe Nicholson
2018 Mary Ramsey
2017 Larissa Johnson
2017 Michael Woodel
2016 AnnaMarie Koehler-Shepley
2016 Patrick Ingraham
2015 Chuck Ringwalt
2014 Thad Moore
2013 Cherrelle Wade
2012 Cassie Cope
2011 Josh Dawsey (First Winner)

About the Fund
Morrow was a pioneer of TheStreet.com and worked with Cramer during Morrow’s tenure as its editor-in-chief from, 2001 to 2009. The Morrow Scholarship is part of USC’s broader Business Journalism Initiative, funded through a grant from USC alumnus Ken Baldwin.

Contributions to the fund, were kicked off with a $50,000 contribution from Jim Cramer, co-founder and chairman of TheStreet.com and host of CNBC’s “Mad Money.” TheStreet.com provided an additional $50,000 to set up the scholarship. Additional funds were raised from friends, family members, co-workers and SABEW members.

SABEW - Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication,
Arizona State University

555 North Central Ave, Suite 406 E, Phoenix, AZ 85004-1248

E-mail: sabew@sabew.org

©2001 - 2019 Society of American Business Editors and Writers, Inc.