The Morrow scholarship is a partnership between the School of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of South Carolina and SABEW. The scholarship is for students aspiring to become business journalists. The funds are designated for college tuition and expenses associated with attending a SABEW conference.

Selection Criteria

The award goes to a graduate or undergraduate student who exhibits significant interest in business/financial journalism at USC.

Selection Committee

The scholarship is selected annually by the Baldwin Fund for Business and Financial Journalism committee which is comprised of one SABEW representative.

About David J. Morrow

The scholarship is named in honor of David J. Morrow, alumnus of the School of Journalism and Mass Communications at USC. Morrow was a prominent financial journalist who died of pancreatic cancer in January 2010 at age 49. At the time of his death, Morrow was a SABEW board member and the first Donald W. Reynolds Endowed Chair in Business Journalism at the University of Nevada, Reno. Before accepting that appointment, he had served for eight years as editor-in-chief of Morrow’s business journalism career also included stints at The New York Times, Smart Money and Fortune magazines and the Detroit Free Press.

Scholarship Winners

Fall 2021 Jade Crooks
Fall 2021 Shelby Naillon
Fall 2021 Stephen Pastis
Fall 2020 Logan Gray
Fall 2020 Shelby Naillon
Fall 2020 Taylor Washington
Fall 2019 Ann Bailey
Fall 2019 Christine Bartruff
Fall 2019 Ryan Hibbison
Fall 2019 Dara Khaalid
Fall 2019 William “Cooper” McGee
Fall 2019 Laurryn Thomas
Spring 2019 Genna Contino
Spring 2019 Kenn Coe
Spring 2019 Taylor Washington
Spring 2019 Katherine Polowczyk
2018 Hannah Slater
2018 Anjali Patel
2018 Zoe Nicholson
2018 Mary Ramsey
2017 Larissa Johnson
2017 Michael Woodel
2016 AnnaMarie Koehler-Shepley
2016 Patrick Ingraham
2015 Chuck Ringwalt
2014 Thad Moore
2013 Cherrelle Wade
2012 Cassie Cope
2011 Josh Dawsey (First Winner)

About the Fund

Morrow was a pioneer of and worked with Cramer during Morrow’s tenure as its editor-in-chief from, 2001 to 2009. The Morrow Scholarship is part of USC’s broader Business Journalism Initiative, funded through a grant from USC alumnus Ken Baldwin.

Contributions to the fund, were kicked off with a $50,000 contribution from Jim Cramer, co-founder and chairman of and host of CNBC’s “Mad Money.” provided an additional $50,000 to set up the scholarship. Additional funds were raised from friends, family members, co-workers and SABEW members.