David J. Morrow Scholarship for Business Journalism

The Morrow scholarship is a partnership between the School of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of South Carolina and SABEW. The scholarship is for students aspiring to become business journalists. The funds are designated for college tuition and expenses associated with attending a SABEW conference.

Selection Criteria

The award goes to a graduate or undergraduate student who exhibits significant interest in business/financial journalism at USC.

Selection Committee

The scholarship is selected annually by the Baldwin Fund for Business and Financial Journalism committee which is comprised of one SABEW representative.

About David J. Morrow

The scholarship is named in honor of David J. Morrow, alumnus of the School of Journalism and Mass Communications at USC. Morrow was a prominent financial journalist who died of pancreatic cancer in January 2010 at age 49. At the time of his death, Morrow was a SABEW board member and the first Donald W. Reynolds Endowed Chair in Business Journalism at the University of Nevada, Reno. Before accepting that appointment, he had served for eight years as editor-in-chief of TheStreet.com. Morrow’s business journalism career also included stints at The New York Times, Smart Money and Fortune magazines and the Detroit Free Press.

Scholarship Winners

Fall 2022: Jade Crooks, Riley Edenbeck, Tyler Fedor, Addison Hinkle, Brook McDaniel, Stephen Pastis
Fall 2021: Jade Crooks, Shelby Naillon, Stephen Pastis
Fall 2020: Logan Gray, Shelby Naillon, Taylor Washington
Fall 2019: Ann Bailey, Christine Bartruff, Ryan Hibbison, Dara Khaalid, William “Cooper” McGee, Laurryn Thomas
Spring 2019: Genna Contino, Kenn Coe, Taylor Washington, Katherine Polowczyk
2018: Hannah Slater, Anjali Patel, Zoe Nicholson, Mary Ramsey
2017: Larissa Johnson, Michael Woodel
2016: AnnaMarie Koehler-Shepley, Patrick Ingraham
2015: Chuck Ringwalt
2014: Thad Moore
2013: Cherrelle Wade
2012: Cassie Cope
2011: Josh Dawsey (First Winner)

About the Fund

Morrow was a pioneer of TheStreet.com and worked with Cramer during Morrow’s tenure as its editor-in-chief from, 2001 to 2009. The Morrow Scholarship is part of USC’s broader Business Journalism Initiative, funded through a grant from USC alumnus Ken Baldwin.

Contributions to the fund, were kicked off with a $50,000 contribution from Jim Cramer, co-founder and chairman of TheStreet.com and host of CNBC’s “Mad Money.” TheStreet.com provided an additional $50,000 to set up the scholarship. Additional funds were raised from friends, family members, co-workers and SABEW members.

Best in Business Book Awards

Official Media Partner

BIB Book Awards Sponsors

Exclusive Sponsor
Investing & Personal Finance category

Exclusive Sponsor
Business & Reporting category

Official Content Distributor