2001 News: SABEW 2001 Distinguished Achievement Award Recipient Announced

Veteran Wall Street Editor Receives Business Journalism AwardColumbia, Mo., April 30, 2001–Allan Sloan, Wall Street editor for Newsweek magazine, has been selected as the Society of American Business Editors and Writers’ Distinguished Achievement Award winner for 2001. He will receive SABEW’s top honor tomorrow at its 38th annual convention in New York City at the Marriott World Trade Center.

Established in 1993, the Distinguished Achievement Award singles out individuals who have made a significant impact on the field of business journalism and who have served as a nurturing influence on others in the profession. The late Hobart Rowen of The Washington Post was the first recipient.

“Allan Sloan is an aggressive business sleuth who can turn the complex into the comprehendible,” said Cheryl Hall, business columnist for The Dallas Morning News, who chairs the awards committee and is also a past recipient. “Young reporters can learn more by watching him in action than from any seminar they might attend.”

“I’m very flattered that people who actually know me – and many of whom are my competitors – have chosen me for this lifetime honor, and I’m not even dead yet,” said Sloan, whose columns run regularly in Newsweek and The Washington Post.

Sloan’s 30-year career in business journalism began at The Charlotte Observer in 1970, and continued through stints at The Detroit Free Press, Forbes, Money and Newsday before he joined Newsweek in 1995. In 1984, while at Forbes, Sloan and coauthor Howard Rudnitsky published the first definitive profile of Drexel Burnham Lambert’s Michael Milken and his network of junk bond buyers.

Sloan has won five Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism.

“The thing I’m proudest of is I’ve won them in three different categories in three different decades for four different employers,” Sloan said. “That defines versatility.”

Past recipients of SABEW’s Distinguished Achievement Award also include: Myron Kandel, financial editor at Cable News Network; the late Larry Birger of the Miami Herald; Chris Welles, a former senior editor of BusinessWeek; Marshall Loeb, formerly of Money and Fortune magazines, now with; John Cuniff of the Associated Press; Chet Currier, formerly of the Associated Press, now with Bloomberg News; and Ernest Holsendolph, business columnist at the Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Sloan will accept his award at SABEW’s Distinguished Award Luncheon, May 1 at the Marriott World Trade Center hotel. To obtain tickets, please call 573-882-7862.

SABEW is a tax-exempt educational organization representing more than 3,000 print, broadcast and electronic business journalists and based at the Missouri School of Journalism. For more information about SABEW and the convention, see the SABEW web site,

Contact: Carolyn Guniss, SABEW executive director, 573-882-8985, or Calame, 212-416-2624.



Best in Business Book Awards

Official Media Partner

BIB Book Awards Sponsors

Exclusive Sponsor
Investing & Personal Finance category

Exclusive Sponsor
Business & Reporting category

Official Content Distributor