SABEW Congratulates 2021 David J. Morrow Business Journalism Scholars

The 2021 recipients of the David J. Morrow Scholarship for Business Journalism at the University of South Carolina are Jade Crooks, Stephen Pastis and Shelby Naillon.

The Morrow Scholarship is a partnership between the School of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of South Carolina and SABEW. The award is given annually to students studying business journalism at USC. All three attended SABEW’s annual virtual conference, #SABEWOct2021, which took place last week from Oct. 12-14.

Crooks, a junior, is a career studio peer educator for the USC Career Center and a copy editor for USC’s student newspaper, The Daily Gamecock.

Pastis is a junior and the arts and culture editor for The Daily Gamecock.

Naillon, a senior, is an account executive with The Carolina Agency, a marketing-communications firm.

The scholarship is named in honor of David J. Morrow, an alumnus of the School of Journalism and Mass Communications at USC. Morrow was a prominent financial journalist who died of pancreatic cancer in January 2010 at age 49. At the time of his death, Morrow was a SABEW board member and the first Donald W. Reynolds Endowed Chair in Business Journalism at the University of Nevada, Reno. Before accepting that appointment, he had served for eight years as editor-in-chief of Morrow’s business journalism career also included stints at The New York Times, Smart Money and Fortune magazines and the Detroit Free Press.

Thank you to Michelle LaRoche, Baldwin Endowed Chair in Business and Financial Journalism at USC, for sheparding the fellowship program and working with the students.

SABEW is the world’s largest association dedicated to business and financial journalism. Follow on Twitter @SABEW.

Best in Business Book Awards

Official Media Partner

BIB Book Awards Sponsors

Exclusive Sponsor
Investing & Personal Finance category

Exclusive Sponsor
Business & Reporting category

Official Content Distributor