SABEW announces the 2021 – 2022 Board of Governors

SABEW announces that Romaine Bostick, a Bloomberg Television news anchor, and Pia Sarkar, business news editor at The Associated Press, have been elected to the board of governors.

SABEW membership also re-elected Rich Barbieri, deputy business editor of The New York Times; Matthew Goldberg, consumer banking reporter at Bankrate; Andrew Leckey, international speaker and trainer; Cindy Perman, partnerships and syndication editor at; and Oliver Staley, culture and lifestyle editor at Quartz.

Here are details on the seven board members who will be installed on Thursday, June 24 from noon – 12:30 ET during the SABEW virtual membership meeting.

  • Rich Barbieri, deputy business editor, The New York Times (2021-2024 term)
  • Romaine Bostick, news anchor, Bloomberg Television (2021-2024 term)
  • Matthew Goldberg, consumer banking reporter, Bankrate (2021-2024 term)
  • Andrew Leckey, international speaker and trainer; founder and past president, Reynolds National Center for Business Journalism (2021-2023 term)
  • Cindy Perman, partnerships and syndication editor, (2021-2024 term)
  • Pia Sarkar, business news editor, Associated Press (2021-2024 term)
  • Oliver Staley, business and culture editor, Quartz (2021-2024 term)

They join SABEW’s existing board members:

  • Caleb Silver, SABEW president, editor-in-chief, Investopedia
  • Heather Long, SABEW vice president, economics correspondent, The Washington Post
  • Glenn Hall, SABEW secretary/treasurer, chief editor, The Wall Street Journal
  • Cesca Antonelli, editor-in-chief, Bloomberg Industry Group
  • Robert Barba, spot news editor, Dow Jones Newswires and The Wall Street Journal
  • Megan Davies, editor and reporter, Reuters
  • Alan Deutschman, professor and Reynolds endowed chair of business journalism University of Nevada, Reno
  • Pallavi Gogoi, chief business editor, NPR
  • Desiree Hanford, assistant professor, Medill/Northwestern University
  • James Madore, economics writer, Newsday
  • Dean Murphy, associate managing editor of investigations, The New York Times
  • James B. Nelson, business editor, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel and instructor, Marquette University
  • Jenny Paurys, head of news and insight operations, S&P Global Market Intelligence
  • Scott Wenger, editorial director, Barron’s

Ex-officio members:

  • Bryan Borzykowski, freelance business writer
  • Mark Hamrick, senior economic analyst, Washington bureau chief,
  • Kim Quillen, business source editor, Chicago Tribune
  • Marty Steffens, SABEW chair in business and journalism School of Journalism, University of Missouri
Best in Business Book Awards

Official Media Partner

BIB Book Awards Sponsors

Exclusive Sponsor
Investing & Personal Finance category

Exclusive Sponsor
Business & Reporting category

Official Content Distributor